Musically’s Mobile Music Debate

Music accessed via a mobile phone network or via the wireless internet or via broadband at home – are blurring into the same thing. This was the main message that emerged most conclusively from the fun debate we had the other night in the swanky Deloitte building in the City of London.

If you want the blow by blow acccount, it was expertly live blogged here by the Musically crew, but really the key point was this blurring of experience. The problem for me with that bluriness is that the pricing blurs with it. I simply don’t quite know how much any of this will cost me and frankly as long as there’s p2p as a simpler alternative – payment still looks optional. The fact is I am a huge fan of having a single device that can supply me my music, keep me in contact with my friends, and allow me to take pictures and videos of what’s going on.

I want these services all to succeed. I’d love Twitter to plug into Last FM’s scrobbelizer and send my every track to anyone who’s interested – for all I know there’s a plug-in that already does that… but in the end, the thing that will put me off doing this more than anything else is the pesky battery life.  Don’t want to be stuck down in the tube-station at midnight with no juice to call home….

Leave a Reply

