“digital compassion”

He contacts me via LinkedIn – asks if I will accept or decline the connection.

Subtext: worried about job: wants to flex network of contacts just in case.

I accept in an act of digital compassion. Empty for now and yet filling us both with a new sense of plenitude – what’s yours is mine – what’s mine is yours. At first I used to go see who I might now be connected to. Now I don’t do that.

Is LinkedIn really any use to us? I tried it to do some recruiting recently and found it very limited. I tried it for making a contact inside a big company, also not very effective in the end – not precise enough.

Hmm – when someone approaches me to connect – I do feel for them and accept with digital compassion and a sense that something good could come of it.

Leave a Reply

